Home > Restuarants & Dining Out > Frisco Tap House and Brewery

Frisco Tap House and Brewery

A few weeks ago, I had an interview for a job in Washington, DC. Not just any job, but the one I wanted. The one I really wanted. The Job. While this in itself was nerve-wracking—as job interviews usually are—it had deeper implications: if offered the job, I would be moving from Philadelphia, PA (where I’ve spent most of my 32 years) to Columbia, MD, sharing a house with my partner, Matt. We’ve been dating two years, and the 100-mile commute was starting to get the better of us.

When I saw the opening for The Job in Washington, DC, I sent in my resume, fully thinking that I would never hear from these people, because a job that perfect is, more often than not, just a dream. To my surprise, not only did I share many an email, but also a phone interview; after that, I was called down for a full afternoon of meeting the team on-site.

Matt offered to buy me dinner that night; it was either going to be a celebration or a consolidation. I knew I didn’t want any of the local chain places, but didn’t feel like exploring too much, so I chose Frisco Tap House. We’d been there before, both at the old and new locations, and I wasn’t worried about trying to find something to eat with my vegetarian diet.

100_2314

We started off with the empanadas, savory little triangles of fried dough filled with black beans and Monterrey cheese. I could eat about 20 of these myself, but we ordered just one dish and each had half. These are definitely fried, and fried good, but not so much that they are tough. The dough is crispy, flaky, and not greasy in the slightest.

100_2315

For my dinner, I asked for a beans and rice burrito, with tofu and guacamole. When it came out, I admit I was a little disappointed in the presentation; the thing looked so plain and lonely on the plate, with its little side of greens and salsa. I was also expecting the guacamole to be on the side, like the salsa, and flagged my waiter before he could walk away. He explained that they always put the guac inside the burritos unless specifically requested to have it on the side. Ah. That makes sense.

The thing is huge. Not quite “size of my head” huge, but the burritos are deceptively large. That tortilla is stuffed full of beans, rice, cheese, and sauce. The tofu… oh man, the tofu. I figured there’d be tiny cubes of it peppered through the burrito, but the tofu is amazingly seasoned, savory with a bite that’s not fire hot but surprising. I could eat a plate of that tofu alone.

Since I knew I’d be driving back to Philadelphia that night, I opted for a root beer instead of one of the many many beers on tap. After that burrito, I also wasn’t hungry for any dessert right then, so we left without ordering anything off their menu. (We did end up at Tutti Frutti later that night, which is a nice way to end the night.)

Oh, and I did get The Job in DC, and will be starting in a couple weeks, and you may have figured out my the name of the blog. I’m looking forward to eating my way through most of Howard County, plus parts of DC and Baltimore.

And Wegmans. Please oh please I hope that Wegmans opens up as soon as possible. And, if it’s not asking too much, for it to be open 24 hours. kthxbai.

Frisco Tap House on Urbanspoon

  1. 20 July 2011 at 5:11 pm

    Yeah for Frisco’s! Yeah for new jobs! Yeah for not having to drive 2 hours to see you anymore! :)

  2. Ken
    29 July 2011 at 7:25 pm

    Hi ,
    Your first post just appeared on Urbanspoon! Check it out:
    http://www.urbanspoon.com/r/31/351016/restaurant/Baltimore/Frisco-Tap-House-Columbia
    I encourage you to claim your blog, which allows you to add a picture and change some settings. The blog photo shows up next to your posts wherever they appear on Urbanspoon. Here’s how to claim:
    – Make sure you’re logged into Urbanspoon
    – Go to your blog page on our site: http://www.urbanspoon.com/br/31/5766/Baltimore/100-Miles-South.html

    – Click “Claim your blog” in the left sidebar
    After you submit it, we may contact you to verify your claim. Check your spam email folder if your claim hasn’t gone through in a day or two. You’ll also find some interesting badges and widgets on your Urbanspoon blog page – look in the right sidebar.
    Let me know if you have any questions.
    Thanks,
    Ken
    http://www.urbanspoon.com

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

